International House (IHouse)

Language Tables

Duke University Language Tables

Fall Semester 2019

Arabic.  No language table at present time.

Chinese.  Thursdays. 6 – 7pm. Area right above Ginger & Soy, Asian restaurant in Brodhead Center. For more information contact Professor Carolyn Lee. Email: kslee@duke.edu

French.  Mondays. 5:30 – 6:30pm. B Chops Restaurant. Brodhead Center. For more information contact Lillian Wright. Email: lillian.wright@duke.edu.   

German.  Tuesdays. 5pm. 116 Lounge area of Old Chemistry. For more information contact Amy Jones (amy.l.jones@duke.edu) and Michael Malloy (michael.malloy@duke.edu).

Hebrew.  No language table at present. Contact Prof. Shelli Plesser for more information.  Email: shelli@duke.edu.

Hindi.  September 26, October 31, and November 21. 4:30 – 5:00pm. The Perk Coffee Shop in the Perkins Library.  For more information contact Professor Kusum Knapczyk. Email: kusum.knapczyk@duke.edu.

Italian. Various time and location. Please visit here for a detailed schedule. Contact Professor Brian Tholl for more information. Email: brian.tholl@duke.edu.

Japanese.  Fridays. 1-2 pm. Brodhead Center (near The Skillet). Contact Yunchuan Chen for more information. Email: yunchuan.chen@duke.edu.

Korean. Contact Professor Eunyoung Kim for more information. Email: ek46@duke.edu.

Persian.  No language table at present time. Contact Prof. Shahla Adel for more information.

Email: shahla.adel@duke.edu.

Polish.  No language table.

Portuguese. Time and location change every week. Please sign up for the mailing list (https://lists.duke.edu/sympa/info/bate-papo-brasil) to receive event invitations. For more information contact Professor Magda Silva.  Email: mbcsilva@duke.edu.

Russian.  No language table at present time. Contact Prof. Edna Andrews for more information.

Spanish.  “Mesa en Espanol”  Wednesdays. 5:30 – 6:30pm. Languages Building, Room 114. There will be special events on Sept. 18, Oct. 30, and Nov. 20 from 5:30 – 7:30pm at another locations. For more information contact Professor Ana Fernandez. Email: ana.fernandez@duke.edu.

Turkish.  No language table at present time. Contact Prof. Didem Havlioglu for more information.  Email: didem.havli@duke.edu.