Housing & Residence Life


From its very beginning, Duke University has placed the highest value on being a residential campus that fosters community and personal growth. We believe that the experience outside the classroom is a vital part of each student's education€“ an opportunity to build lifelong friendships, develop personal responsibility, and gain experience in leadership and self-government in a supportive environment.

Duke requires students to live on campus for three years. We generally have space to guarantee housing for the fourth year, should a student choose to remain on campus. We have three campuses: West, Central and East (an all first-year campus); and 5 housing types: independent, fraternities and sororities, selective living groups (SLGs), lifestyle groups and living/learning communities.

West Campus Houses

Central Campus Houses

Alspaugh                                                    Bassett                                  Bell Tower   
Blackwell Brown

East Campus
Substance Free Community

East House Epworth Gilbert-Addoms
Giles Jarvis Pegram
Performing Arts Community Randolph Southgate
The Focus Program Wilson