University Center Activities & Events (ucae)

About Us

We are University Center Activities & Events and we're happy to meet you! Our extraordinary teams provide a wide array of services available to the Duke community and campus visitors. Commonly referred to as UCAE we support event planning and campus programming needs. 

Check in with us on the UCAE Facebook page and visit our office in person soon. We look forward to getting to know you. 

UCAE Logo

Mission

We envision a collaborative organization that harnesses the individual creative talents of a diverse staff and facilitates a model of student learning and development that is unique amongst our peers. Through excellence in both student and event services, we aim to create a holistic environment that incorporates a best practices approach in both the transformational and transactional, where learning and mentorship is embedded within the daily lives of students and staff alike, and resulting in personal development and transferable skills.

Goals

  • An organization that is student-centric and recognizes learning takes place both in and out of the classroom,  and that creates opportunities for students to expand their knowledge and skills in new settings.
  • An organization that is exemplary of the best practices in entrepreneurship and fosters innovation.
  • An organization that provides integrated support services that embrace and further the strategic goals and initiatives of the Division and the University.
  • An organization that is agile and resourceful and channels realized efficiencies into furthering the goals and mission of the department.
  • An organization that seeks to maximize revenue in order to support department and Division objectives and minimize reliance on general allocation resources.

Administrative Leadership Team

Strong leadership is critical to the long-term creation of value within UCAE. The Administrative Leadership Team provides strategic direction, guidance, and vision. Led by Chris Roby the Administrative Leadership Team provides oversight for all activity within UCAE while providing leadership to each team.  

Student Activities

Leadership development and student organization support are the cornerstones of the Student Activities team.  Visit this group to learn more about programs and services including student organization support, leadership development, Leadershape, DiDA, the Arts Annex, Launch, DukeGroups, HubTix, and more. The staff of the Student Activities team serves in an advisory capacity to DUU, DSG, duARTS, dPS, SOFC, and a variety of other groups.  Student Activities is led by David Pittman and consists of the Student Involvement Team, Fraternity & Sorority Life, as well as the Center for Leadership Development and Social Action.

Event and Production Services

What happens behind the scenes makes exceptional events possible.  The Event and Production Services team is responsible for the planning and execution of all sizes of events on campus, from sporting events to graduation. The Event and Production Services team also oversees much of the reservations on campus including those managed with 25-Live. Event and Production Services is led by Chuck Catotti and consists of the Media Services Team, Conference and Event Services Team, Ticketing and Theater Operations Team, and the Technical Services Team.

Business and Finance

Whether you’re looking for help translating your budget, paying a vendor, and everything in between, the Business and Finance Team is Dedicated to helping you achieve success with your financial stewardship. Under the leadership of April Billings this team is responsible for departmental accounts, student organization accounts, office management and serving as UCAE's liaison to payroll and HR. This team is led by April Billings.

Signature Programs

First Big Week

First Big Week is an exciting Duke tradition that welcomes undergraduate students back to campus in the fall with community-focused activities, events and performances. The events held during FBW introduce first-year students to the greater Duke community while promoting a borderless, responsible social scene.


Check out the DukeGuides App for the most up-to-date information about event locations and times 

You can find the most up-to-date First Big Week information on DukeGuides - First Big Week Guide.
Please check there for updates to events.

First Big Week Logo

Launch

The mission of LAUNCH, a student-led program, is to enhance student involvement and leadership development at Duke University. The LAUNCH team provides web-based resources, individual and executive board appointments, retreat planning assistance and workshops to facilitate peer to peer development for the purpose of enhancing individuals and groups in the Duke community.

Dive deeper into LAUNCH here. 

Staff Directory

Office Manager
Jeannette Vega
684-4741
UCAE@duke.edu

Assistant Vice President        
Chris Roby      
684-6809
christopher.roby@duke.edu

Senior Director of Student Life          
David Pittman
684-2190            
david.pittman@duke.edu

Director          
April Billings  
660-1774            
april.billings@duke.edu

Associate Director     
Kyle Fox          
684-8810              
kyle.fox@duke.edu

Associate Director     
Maria Maxell  
660-1825              
maria.maxell@duke.edu

Director, Student Involvement          
Gerald Harris 
684-0005     
gerald.c.harris@duke.edu

Assistant Director      
Allison Shumar          
684-5578       
allison.shumar@duke.edu

Assisant Director       
Tearria Beck-Scott     
684-8915          
tearria.beck.scott@duke.edu

Student Development Coordinator   
Sean Ferguson           
668-4773
sean.ferguson@duke.edu

Student Development Coordinator    
Kevin Erixson  
684-2003   
kevin.erixson@duke.edu

Technical Advisor - DSB/STR 
Tom Wilson   
660-1742                     
t.wilson@duke.edu

Director, Student Engagement   
Emilie Dye      
684-5617       
emilie.dye@duke.edu

Associate Director, Student Engagement
Anna Lehnen
668-4764
anna.lehnen@duke.edu

Student Development Coordinator    
Kyle Kubovcik 
684-8962 
kyle.kubovcik@duke.edu

Director          
Jim Hodges    
660-1761            
jim.hodges@duke.edu

Assistant Director      
Karen Stone   
660-1751   
karen.stone1@duke.edu

Assistant Director   
Tara Rappleye
660-1752   
tara.rappleye@duke.edu

Assistant Manager    
Windy Jacobs 
660-1753         
windy.jacobs@duke.edu

Assistant Manager
Stephanie Green
660-1763
stephanie.m.green@duke.edu

Assistant Manager         
Kelly Jennings
684-8465   
kelly.jennings@duke.edu        

Staff Specialist 
Kristin Pietrantoni
660-1765
kristin.pietrantoni@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Garrett Grimshaw
660-1750    
garrett.grimshaw@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Jason Poole
660-1755          
jason.t.poole@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Sam Watson  
660-1755     
sam.watson@duke.edu 

Assistant Director      
Myra Stallings
660-1772           
myra.stallings@duke.edu

Assistant Director      
Sarah Whitney           
684-4993     
sarah.whitney@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Stormy Williams        
684-2594                   
stormy.williams@duke.edu

Staff Specialist
Kimberly Wallace      
660-1773    
kimberly.wallace@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Esther Clark    
660-1771        
esther.clark@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Chelsea Aniol 
684-2764   
chelsea.aniol@duke.edu

Director, Student Engagement     
Emilie Dye      
684-5617       
emilie.dye@duke.edu

Associate Director, Student Engagement
Anna Lehnen
668-4764
anna.lehnen@duke.edu

Assistant Director      
Brian Lackman           
668-4754    
brian.lackman@duke.edu

Marcy Edenfield
Director
112 Bryan Center Box 90940
919-660-1726
marcy.edenfield@duke.edu

Rich Kless
Associate Director, Theatre Operations
112 Bryan Center    
919-660-1703    
rich.kless@duke.edu

John Kolba
Associate Director, Theatre Operations
126 Rubenstein Arts Center    
919-660-1783
john.kolba@duke.edu

Jessica Reveal
Associate Director, University Box Office and Information Desk  
104 Bryan Center, Box Office    
919-660-1725    
jessica.reveal@duke.edu

David Berberian    
Manager, Scene Shop    
023 Bryan Center, Scene Shop    
919-660-1715    
david.berberian@duke.edu

Erin West    
Manager, Costume Shop    
043 Bryan Center, Costume Shop    
919-660-1704    
erin.m.west@duke.edu

Leah Austin    
Assistant Manager, Theatre Operations    
018 Bryan Center    
919-660-1712    
leah.austin@duke.edu

Bryant Strader
Assistant Manager, Ticketing & Event Operations
104 Bryan Center, Box Office    
919-660-1723
bryant.strader@duke.edu

Jenn Moerman
Assistant Manager, Reservations & Events
126 Rubenstein Arts Center    
919-660-1789
jenn.moerman@duke.edu

Kourtney Varnum
Supervisor, Audience Services
104 Bryan Center, Box Office    
919-660-1721
kourtney.varnum@duke.edu

Carrie Corpening
Supervisor, Guest & Information Services
104 Bryan Center, Box Office    
919-660-1724
carrie.corpening@duke.edu

Austin Powers    
Production Technician, Senior 
109 Bryan Center    
919-660-1711    
austin.powers@duke.edu

Nick Raffaele    
Production Technician, Senior
109 Bryan Center    
919-660-1709    
nicholas.raffaele@duke.edu

Christopher Thurston
Production Technician, Senior    
021 Bryan Center    
919-660-1714    
christopher.thurston@duke.edu

Jessica Minor
Production Technician, Senior
018 Bryan Center    
919-660-1702    
jessica.minor@duke.edu

Erik Koehler
Production Technician, Senior
018 Bryan Center    
919-660-1710 
erik.koehler@duke.edu

Sean Haggerty
Production Technician, Senior
018 Bryan Center    
919-660-1710   
sean.haggerty@duke.edu

Manager        
Selden Smith 
660-1731         
selden.smith@duke.edu

Supervisor      
Mark Kitchens
660-1732           
mark.kitchens@duke.edu

Senior Technician      
Ye Tun
660-1731                  
ye.tun@duke.edu

Senior Technician      
Tom Whiteside          
660-1733  
tom.whiteside@duke.edu

Production Coordinator          
Greg Hobbs    
660-1749          
greg.hobbs@duke.edu

Production Supervisor
Tom Wilson   
660-1742                    
t.wilson@duke.edu