University Center Activities & Events (ucae)

About Us

We are University Center Activities & Events and we're happy to meet you! Our extraordinary teams provide a wide array of services available to the Duke community and campus visitors. Commonly referred to as UCAE we support event planning and campus programming needs. 

Check in with us on the UCAE Facebook page and visit our office in person soon. We look forward to getting to know you. 

Thumbnail

Mission

We envision a collaborative organization that harnesses the individual creative talents of a diverse staff and facilitates a model of student learning and development that is unique amongst our peers. Through excellence in both student and event services, we aim to create a holistic environment that incorporates a best practices approach in both the transformational and transactional, where learning and mentorship is embedded within the daily lives of students and staff alike, and resulting in personal development and transferable skills.

Goals

  • An organization that is student-centric and recognizes learning takes place both in and out of the classroom,  and that creates opportunities for students to expand their knowledge and skills in new settings.
  • An organization that is exemplary of the best practices in entrepreneurship and fosters innovation.
  • An organization that provides integrated support services that embrace and further the strategic goals and initiatives of the Division and the University.
  • An organization that is agile and resourceful and channels realized efficiencies into furthering the goals and mission of the department.
  • An organization that seeks to maximize revenue in order to support department and Division objectives and minimize reliance on general allocation resources.

Administrative Leadership Team

Strong leadership is critical to the long-term creation of value within UCAE. The Administrative Leadership Team provides strategic direction, guidance, and vision. Led by Chris Roby the Administrative Leadership Team provides oversight for all activity within UCAE while providing leadership to each team.  

Student Engagement

Leadership development and student organization support are the cornerstones of the Student Engagement team.  Visit this group to learn more about programs and services including student organization support, leadership development, the Arts Annex, Launch, DukeGroups, and more. The staff of the Student Engagement team serves in an advisory capacity to DUU, DSG, duARTS, dPS, SOFC, and a variety of other groups.  Student Activities is led by David Pittman and consists of the Student Involvement Team, Fraternity & Sorority Life, as well as the Center for Leadership Development and Social Action.

Venue and Performance Management

What happens behind the scenes makes exceptional events possible. The Venue and Performance Management team supports ticket sales, theater operations, technical services, and supports the operation of the Rubenstein Arts Center and more. The Event and Production Services team is responsible for the planning and execution of all sizes of events on campus, from sporting events to graduation. The Event and Production Services team also oversees much of the reservations on campus including those managed with 25-Live. Event and Production Services is led by Marcy Edenfield and consists of the Box Office and Visitor Team, the Theater Operations Team, Rubenstein Arts Center Operations, and the Technical Services Team.

Conference and Event Services

The Conference and Event Services team is responsible for the planning and execution of all sizes of events on campus, from summer conferences to graduation. The Conference and Event Services team oversees much of the reservations on campus and more information about reserving those venues can be found at our Event Services website

Creative Services

The Creative Services team offers video, audio, photo, and design services. Creative Services supports the creative needs of the Duke community. Our team of experienced professional staff and talented student staff of DIDA work collaboratively to deliver the final product our clients need at a competitive price. 

Business and Finance

Whether you’re looking for help translating your budget, paying a vendor, and everything in between, the Business and Finance Team is Dedicated to helping you achieve success with your financial stewardship. Under the leadership of April Billings this team is responsible for departmental accounts, student organization accounts, office management and serving as UCAE's liaison to payroll and HR. This team is led by April Billings.

Staff Directory

Office Manager
Jeannette Vega
684-4741
UCAE@duke.edu

Assistant Vice President        
Chris Roby      
christopher.roby@duke.edu

Senior Director of Student Life          
David Pittman        
david.pittman@duke.edu

Director of Business and Finance          
April Billings            
april.billings@duke.edu

Director of Conference and Event Services         
Jim Hodges            
jim.hodges@duke.edu


Director of Theatre and Production Services
Marcy Edenfield
marcy.edenfield@duke.edu

Project Manager 
Maria Maxell             
maria.maxell@duke.edu

Associate Director       
Tearria Beck-Scott        
tearria.beck.scott@duke.edu

Assistant Director
Michael Croal
michael.croal@duke.edu

Assistant Director
Francesqa Santos
francesqa.santos@duke.edu

Student Development Coordinator
Sarah Neff
sarah.neff@duke.edu

Student Development Coordinator
Keith Norris
keith.norris@duke.edu

Director, Student Engagement, Leadership (she/her/hers)
Emilie Dye          
emilie.dye@duke.edu

Associate Director, Student Engagement, Leadership (she/her/hers)
Anna Lehnen
anna.lehnen@duke.edu

Assistant Director, Student Engagement, Leadership (he/him/his)
Brian Lackman
brian.lackman@duke.edu

Assistant Director, Student Engagement, Leadership (he/him/his)
Frederick Kenley
frederick.kenley@duke.edu

Associate Director      
Karen Stone     
karen.stone1@duke.edu

Assistant Director   
Tara Carty
tara.rappleye@duke.edu

Assistant Manager    
Windy Jacobs         
windy.jacobs@duke.edu

Assistant Manager
Stephanie Newton
stephanie.m.green@duke.edu

Assistant Manager
Sharon Barbour
sharon.l.barbour@duke.edu

Assistant Manager         
Kelly Jennings
kelly.jennings@duke.edu        

Staff Specialist 
Kristin Pietrantoni
kristin.pietrantoni@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Garrett Grimshaw
garrett.grimshaw@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Jason Poole   
jason.t.poole@duke.edu

Operations Supervisor           
Sam Watson    
sam.watson@duke.edu 

Assistant Director      
Myra Stallings         
myra.stallings@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Stormy Williams                      
stormy.williams@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Esther Clark         
esther.clark@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Chelsea Britt
chelsea.britt@duke.edu

Staff Specialist          
Sam Malavsky
sammuel.malavsky@duke.edu

Associate Director of Theatre Operations
Rich Kless
rich.kless@duke.edu    

Operations Director of Venue Management
Allison Shumar
allison.shumar@duke.edu

Associate Director of Theatre Operations
John Kolba
john.kolba@duke.edu

Associate Director of University Box Office and Information Desk  
Jessica Reveal
jessica.reveal@duke.edu

Manager of Scene Shop
David Berberian         
david.berberian@duke.edu

Manager of Costume Shop  
Erin West      
erin.m.west@duke.edu

Assistant Manager of Theatre Operations    
Leah Austin      
leah.austin@duke.edu

Assistant Manager of Reservations & Events
Jenn Moerman
jenn.moerman@duke.edu

Supervisor of Audience Services
Kourtney Varnum
kourtney.varnum@duke.edu

Supervisor of Customer Services
Meghan Starr
meghan.starr@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Austin Powers    
austin.powers@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Christopher Thurston
christopher.thurston@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Erik Koehler
erik.koehler@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician, Senior 
Sean Haggerty
sean.haggerty@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Paul Chapman
paul.chapman@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Griffin Matthews
griffin.matthews@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Scott Silver
scott.silver@duke.edu

Manager        
Selden Smith      
selden.smith@duke.edu

Supervisor      
Mark Kitchens       
mark.kitchens@duke.edu

Senior Technician      
Ye Tun                 
ye.tun@duke.edu

Senior Technician      
Tom Whiteside          
tom.whiteside@duke.edu

Director     
Kyle Fox                       
kyle.fox@duke.edu

Production Coordinator          
Greg Hobbs            
greg.hobbs@duke.edu

Production Supervisor
Tom Wilson                      
t.wilson@duke.edu