University Center Activities & Events (ucae)

About Us

We are University Center Activities & Events and we're happy to meet you! Our extraordinary teams provide a wide array of services available to the Duke community and campus visitors. Commonly referred to as UCAE we support event planning and campus programming needs. 

Check in with us on the UCAE Facebook page and visit our office in person soon. We look forward to getting to know you. 

Thumbnail

Mission

We envision a collaborative organization that harnesses the individual creative talents of a diverse staff and facilitates a model of student learning and development that is unique amongst our peers. Through excellence in both student and event services, we aim to create a holistic environment that incorporates a best practices approach in both the transformational and transactional, where learning and mentorship is embedded within the daily lives of students and staff alike, and resulting in personal development and transferable skills.

Goals

  • An organization that is student-centric and recognizes learning takes place both in and out of the classroom,  and that creates opportunities for students to expand their knowledge and skills in new settings.
  • An organization that is exemplary of the best practices in entrepreneurship and fosters innovation.
  • An organization that provides integrated support services that embrace and further the strategic goals and initiatives of the Division and the University.
  • An organization that is agile and resourceful and channels realized efficiencies into furthering the goals and mission of the department.
  • An organization that seeks to maximize revenue in order to support department and Division objectives and minimize reliance on general allocation resources.

Administrative Leadership Team

Strong leadership is critical to the long-term creation of value within UCAE. The Administrative Leadership Team provides strategic direction, guidance, and vision. Led by Chris Roby the Administrative Leadership Team provides oversight for all activity within UCAE while providing leadership to each team.  

Student Engagement

Leadership development and student organization support are the cornerstones of the Student Engagement team.  Visit this group to learn more about programs and services including student organization support, leadership development, the Arts Annex, Launch, DukeGroups, and more. The staff of the Student Engagement team serves in an advisory capacity to DUU, DSG, duARTS, dPS, SOFC, and a variety of other groups.  Student Activities is led by David Pittman and consists of the Student Involvement Team, Fraternity & Sorority Life, as well as the Center for Leadership Development and Social Action.

Venue and Performance Management

What happens behind the scenes makes exceptional events possible. The Venue and Performance Management team supports ticket sales, theater operations, technical services, and supports the operation of the Rubenstein Arts Center and more. The Event and Production Services team is responsible for the planning and execution of all sizes of events on campus, from sporting events to graduation. The Event and Production Services team also oversees much of the reservations on campus including those managed with 25-Live. Event and Production Services is led by Marcy Edenfield and consists of the Box Office and Visitor Team, the Theater Operations Team, Rubenstein Arts Center Operations, and the Technical Services Team.

Conference and Event Services

The Conference and Event Services team is responsible for the planning and execution of all sizes of events on campus, from summer conferences to graduation. The Conference and Event Services team oversees much of the reservations on campus and more information about reserving those venues can be found at our Event Services website

Creative Services

The Creative Services team offers video, audio, photo, and design services. Creative Services supports the creative needs of the Duke community. Our team of experienced professional staff and talented student staff of DIDA work collaboratively to deliver the final product our clients need at a competitive price. 

Business and Finance

Whether you’re looking for help translating your budget, paying a vendor, and everything in between, the Business and Finance Team is Dedicated to helping you achieve success with your financial stewardship. Under the leadership of April Billings this team is responsible for departmental accounts, student organization accounts, office management and serving as UCAE's liaison to payroll and HR. This team is led by April Billings.

Staff Directory

David Pittman (he/him)
Senior Director of Student Life              
david.pittman@duke.edu

Jim Hodges       
Director of Conference and Event Services              
jim.hodges@duke.edu

Marcy Edenfield
Senior Director of Venue and Production Management
marcy.edenfield@duke.edu

Jeannette Vega (she/her)
Office Manager
(919) 684-4741
UCAE@duke.edu

Maria Maxell (she/her)
Project Manager     
maria.maxell@duke.edu

Francesqa Santos (she/they)
Assistant Director
francesqa.santos@duke.edu

Michael Croal (he/him)
Assistant Director
michael.croal@duke.edu

Emilie Dye (she/her)
Director
emilie.dye@duke.edu

Anna Lehnen (she/her)
Associate Director
anna.lehnen@duke.edu

Frederick Kenley (he/him)
Assistant Director
frederick.kenley@duke.edu

Karen Stone     
Associate Director      
karen.stone1@duke.edu

Tara Carty
Assistant Director   
tara.rappleye@duke.edu

Windy Jacobs         
Assistant Manager    
windy.jacobs@duke.edu

Sharon Barbour
Assistant Manager
sharon.l.barbour@duke.edu

Kelly Jennings
Assistant Manager         
kelly.jennings@duke.edu        

Kristin Pietrantoni
Staff Specialist 
kristin.pietrantoni@duke.edu

Garrett Grimshaw
Operations Supervisor           
garrett.grimshaw@duke.edu

Jason Poole   
Operations Supervisor           
jason.t.poole@duke.edu

Sam Watson   
Operations Supervisor            
sam.watson@duke.edu 

Myra Stallings (she/her)        
Assistant Director      
myra.stallings@duke.edu

Esther Clark (she/her)     
Staff Accountant          
esther.clark@duke.edu

Stormy Williams (she/her)     
Staff Accountant                           
stormy.williams@duke.edu

Chelsea Britt (she/her)
Staff Accountant           
chelsea.britt@duke.edu

Kate Mahafza (she/her)
Staff Specialist         
katherine.mahafza@duke.edu

Maria Romero (she/her)
Staff Specialist         
maria.romero.moreno@duke.edu

Jamarcus Squire (he/him)
Staff Specialist         
jamarcus.squire@duke.edu

 

Rich Kless
Associate Director of Theatres
rich.kless@duke.edu    

Allison Shumar
Operations Director
allison.shumar@duke.edu

John Kolba
Associate Director
john.kolba@duke.edu

Jessica Reveal
Associate Director of University Box Office and Information Desk  
jessica.reveal@duke.edu

David Berberian         
Manager of Scene Shop
david.berberian@duke.edu

Erin West      
Manager of Costume Shop  
erin.m.west@duke.edu

Leah Austin  
Assistant Manager of Theatre Operations        
leah.austin@duke.edu

Jenn Moerman
Assistant Manager of Reservations & Events
jenn.moerman@duke.edu

Supervisor of Audience Services
Currently Vacant

Assistant Manager of University Box Office
Currently Vacant

Austin Powers    
Senior Production Technician
austin.powers@duke.edu

Christopher Scully-Thurston
Senior Production Technician
christopher.thurston@duke.edu

Erik Koehler
Senior Production Technician
erik.koehler@duke.edu

Sean Haggerty
Senior Production Technician 
sean.haggerty@duke.edu

Paul Chapman
Senior Production Technician
paul.chapman@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Griffin Matthews
griffin.matthews@duke.edu

Senior Production Technician
Scott Silver
scott.silver@duke.edu

Selden Smith      
Manager        
selden.smith@duke.edu

Mark Kitchens   
Supervisor         
mark.kitchens@duke.edu

Ye Tun                 
Senior Technician      
ye.tun@duke.edu

Tom Whiteside   
Senior Technician             
tom.whiteside@duke.edu